Description: Manor Farmhouse
Date Listed: 22 September 1987
English Heritage Building ID: 279623
OS Grid Reference: TM1829654431
OS Grid Coordinates: 618296, 254431
Latitude/Longitude: 52.1450, 1.1890
Explore more of the area around Ashbocking, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
ASHBOCKING THE STREET
TM 15 SE
7/4 Manor Farmhouse
Farmhouse, formerly manor house. The front range was added c.1810 to the rear
range of early C17. Front range: gault brick (now painted). Low-pitched
slated hipped roof with deep shallow eaves. 3 windows, 2 storeys. Small-pane
sashes with flat arches of gault brick; ground storey windows are set within
shallow blind arches, and the detail repeats at the end elevations. Tuscan
portico porch, and a pair of glazed panelled entrance doors. T-shaped C17
rear range: timber-framed and plastered, plaintiled roofs. A large external
C17 chimney of red brick on north side, recapped in gault brick c.1810.
Various early C19 casements. C17 close studding with arch stud-bracing exposed
internally, with much oak wainscotting at 1st storey. Ovolo-moulded 1st floor
members. In the Proc. Suffolk Inst. Arch. for 1902, a print copied by J.S.
Corder shows the east elevation before C19 alterations. A brick parapet-gable
with crowstepping shown on the print remains, truncated and remodelled, with a
plastered ovolo-moulded window of c.1600; all now within the roof space. In a
C19 granary 40m to the north is a reused section of a tie-beam, enriched and
carved with "E 1674 M". In 1674 Edward Mann, Recorder of Ipswich, lived here;
a demolished wing on the north side is possibly the source of this, and other
materials in the farm buildings.
Listing NGR: TM1829654431
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.