Description: Rookery House
Date Listed: 22 January 1988
English Heritage Building ID: 279858
OS Grid Reference: TM0220053966
OS Grid Coordinates: 602200, 253966
Latitude/Longitude: 52.1470, 0.9539
Explore more of the area around Battisford, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
COMBS MILL ROAD, BATTISFORD
TM 05 SW
5/83 Rookery House
Former farmhouse. Built in 2 stages: a C15 or perhaps late C14 range of 1½
storeys, and a range of 2 storeys and attics added 1752 as dated on chimney.
Timber-framed and roughcast. Thatched roofs, the medieval section to left is
hipped. Axial chimneys of red brick, that to right is inscribed with the
initials ID above the date 1753 on a terracotta plaque. Mainly mid C20 small-
pane casements. The left hand section comprises an altered open hall with
service cell. The hall open truss is almost entirely missing, but there is a
smoke-encrusted coupled-rafter roof. Very widely spaced studding for Suffolk,
with reversed arch windbracing at the corners; a splayed scarf joint with
under-squinted and sallied butts in the rear wallplate suggests a probable C14
date. An inserted C17 chimney backs onto the cross-entry. Mid C20 internal
alterations. The C18 range is of 2 cells with back-to-back fireplaces; the
hall is built on the site of the original parlour cell.
Listing NGR: TM0220053966
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.