Description: St Georges School, Finborough Hall
Date Listed: 9 December 1955
English Heritage Building ID: 279888
OS Grid Reference: TM0148158086
OS Grid Coordinates: 601481, 258086
Latitude/Longitude: 52.1842, 0.9458
Explore more of the area around Great Finborough, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
GREAT FINBOROUGH FINBOROUGH PARK
TM 05 NW
2/113 St. George's School,
Finborough Hall (formerly
listed as Finborough Hall
9.12.55 and stables)
Preparatory school, formerly country house. 1795 for Roger Pettiward, by F.
Sandys. Major mid C19 and C20 extensions at the west end. In the Tuscan
style. Gault brick with dressings of stucco. Low-pitched hipped slated
roofs; a bold eaves cornice with large modillions. Internal chimneys of gault
brick, and a central lead-clad dome. North entrance front of 7 windows,
including a full-height central semi-circular bay, 3 windows wide and with a
parapet. 2 storeys. Small-pane sashes with mid C19 moulded stucco
architraves and cornices. A semi-circular portico projects forward from the
bay: 6 Tuscan columns support a flat entablature; a pair of C19 part-glazed
panelled entrance doors, and a square fanlight with radiating bars. On the
south front, in the equivalent position, is a similar bay without the portico;
the flanking windows (one on each side) are tripartite sashes. On the 5-
window east front is a giant portico of 4 columns supporting a pediment.
Major mid C19 extensions to the west side are mainly of 2 storeys, but include
an Italianate tower and an orangery with an arcade of 8 round-arched windows.
A good staircase with unusual wrought-iron balustrading.
Listing NGR: TM0148158086
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.