Description: Laxfield House
Date Listed: 18 December 1987
English Heritage Building ID: 280162
OS Grid Reference: TM2875570624
OS Grid Coordinates: 628755, 270624
Latitude/Longitude: 52.2861, 1.3526
Explore more of the area around Laxfield, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
LAXFIELD DENNINGTON ROAD
TM 27 SE
4/42 Laxfield House
Former farmhouse, now 2 dwellings. C17 main range with a c.1600 wing set
forward at right angles to form L-shape plan. Main range considerably altered
in later C19, with 2 gabled additions of c.1900 to the rear. Timber framed,
partly plastered and partly encased in red brick, some of it colourwashed; at
the rear of the main range a brick is scratch-dated 1795. Later additions are
of red brick. Roof of main range is plaintiled, with crest tiles; the other
range is pantiled. Some scalloped bargeboards. 2 storeys with attics.
Various casement windows, mostly of C18-C19 date. One small gabled dormer.
C19 colourwashed brick gabled porch with scalloped bargeboards and a half-
glazed 4-panel door; glazing bars in door and side windows of porch have ogee
heads. C19 door and open porch in the angle of the 2 ranges. Various stacks,
all shafts rebuilt with corbelled caps. Little of the original structure is
visible inside the main range. The roof, with stepped diminished butt purlins
and a ridge piece, dates from the second half of C17. The adjoining range is
less altered and some of the framing can be seen. Original newel stair to
attic. Evidence for diamond-mullioned windows in both gables. The roof has
clasped and butt purlins with 2-way wind-bracing. In the main addition to the
rear is a fine oak overmantel dated 1631 with the initials 'S' over 'WE'; some
carved panelling of similar date now forms a dado. Both overmantel and
panelling have been brought from elsewhere.
Listing NGR: TM2875570624
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.