Description: Swiss Farm Butchers
The Debenham Gallery
Date Listed: 9 December 1955
English Heritage Building ID: 281505
OS Grid Reference: TM1737163361
OS Grid Coordinates: 617371, 263361
Latitude/Longitude: 52.2255, 1.1813
Explore more of the area around Debenham, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
DEBENHAM HIGH STREET (east side)
TM 16 SE
6/81 No.1 (The Debenham
9/12/55 Gallery), Swiss Farm
( formerly listed as
Premises immediately N.
of Angel Inn; Premises
30yds N. of Angel Inn)
Art gallery, shop and house. In 3 main parts: (a) an early C15 Wealden-type
range parallel with the street (in 3 occupations); (b) a high quality early-
mid C16 rear wing (part of No.3); (c) a mid C16 cross-wing to north of the
earliest section (part of No.1). Timber framed, part plastered, part
roughcast-rendered. Some mid C20 pargetting to Water Lane. Plaintiled roof.
Cross-wing has decorative bargeboards. 2 storeys. Jetties to High Street are
underbuilt; continuous jetty to Water Lane. Fine early-mid C16 2-storey
porch: jettied upper floor with exposed studs and brick nogging; C19 scalloped
bargeboards with spike finial. Open 4-centred arch with leaf-carved
spandrels; original upper window with moulded mullions. Within the porch is
the C15 2-centre arched doorway with old plank door; the opposing doorway is
visible internally. To each side of the porch are late C19 projecting brick
shopfronts: 8-paned windows to left, smaller single-paned windows to right
with C19 hinged internal cross-slatted shutters; C20 doors. Casement windows
at first floor, those to No.3 with C18 square-leaded panes. To extreme right,
one bay of small-paned sash windows and a 6-panel door. Internal stack.
Return front to Water Lane has 2 mullioned windows at first floor, one
original, one of c.1600. North side of rear wing (b) (partly concealed by C17
addition) has exposed close studding and a jettied upper floor on original
brackets springing from carved buttress-shafts; rope-pattern carving on
bressummer. An original oriel window has carved sill and arched heads to the
lights; some early diamond-leaded glass. Interior. The Wealden range has a
2-bay former open hall: open truss has cambered tie beam with missing braces
supporting cross-quadrate crown-post with thick 4-way bracing at the head; the
roof timbers, heavily sooted, are largely intact. 2 4-centre arched doorways
from the cross-passage gave access to a shop (front) and service room (rear).
Embattled mid rail shows evidence for shop windows and a shop doorway adjacent
to the cross-entry. Massive ceiling joists with evidence for stairtrap at
rear. One bay of the 2-bay parlour end was lost when the adjacent Angel Inn
was built (qv. Item 6/82). Mid C16 inserted hall ceiling of very high
quality: richly-moulded cross-beams, ogee-moulded joists, moulded cornice.
Contemporary screen with moulded muntins. C16 stack inserted in upper bay of
hall. Rear wing (b) has a further moulded ceiling and moulded fireplace
lintol. Many blocked windows with moulded mullions, those on the south side
extending the full width of 2 bays. This range has a plain crown-post roof.
Both this and the Wealden range have many C16 and C17 doors with good original
ironwork. A particularly heavy door into porch chamber with 2 layers of
planking. North cross-wing (c) is in 4 bays, the front 3 of mid C16. Ceiling
of front bay has dragon beam and very heavy closely-spaced joists with remains
of red ochre colouring. Intact first floor studding, queen-post roof. For
drawings of frame, mouldings and interior photographs, see Mr T. Easton,
Listing NGR: TM1737163361
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.