Church of St John the Baptist, Shadingfield
Description: Church of St John the Baptist
Date Listed: 1 September 1953
English Heritage Building ID: 281992
OS Grid Reference: TM4348583797
OS Grid Coordinates: 643485, 283797
Latitude/Longitude: 52.3980, 1.5776
Location: London Road, Shadingfield, Suffolk NR34 8DE
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Shadingfield, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
SHADINGFIELD LONDON ROAD
TM 48 SW
3/33 Church of St. John the
Parish church. Medieval, restored 1839 and 1870's. Nave, chancel, west
tower, south porch. Flint rubble, the nave plastered, the chancel with
remains of plasterwork to north and south; stone dressings; red brick porch.
Slated roofs to nave and chancel, plaintiles to porch. C15 square tower with
3-stage diagonal buttresses decorated with flushwork and crenellated parapet;
some later repair work in red brick. 2-light west window with empty statue
niche above; 2-light bell-chamber openings with later alterations in red brick.
Late C12/early C13 work to nave: 2 small semi-circular headed windows to north
and south at west end; north and south doorways, both with pointed arches, the
arch to the north doorway enriched with dogtooth moulding. The nave also has
2 2-light windows with Y tracery to the south and one 3-light Perpendicular
window to the north, all restored. Early C16 brick porch with embattled
parapet and polygonal buttresses; some ornamental courses of bricks with
flower motifs. Chancel probably C13: one lancet window to north, 2 2-light
windows with Y tracery to the south with a Priest's doorway between; C19 3-
light east window with intersecting tracery. Interior. C19 arched-braced
roof to nave (plastered); chancel roof also C19. Niche of banner stave locker
north of tower arch. No chancel arch; at the entrance to the chancel are 2
stone corbels in the form of pairs of heads which probably once supported part
of the rood loft. Simple pointed-arch piscina in south sanctuary,with sedilia
adjacent. Good C15 octagonal font, the bowl carved with shields and flowers
within foiled surrounds; 8 attached shafts to the stem; base with 4 raised
steps like a Maltese Cross, the step ends carved, (cf. All Saints, Laxfield).
Arms of Charles II on south nave wall. The organ, which stands at the west
end of the nave, has a good late C18 case. In the chancel are several C17 and
early C18 ledger slabs and brass inscriptions to the Cuddon family.
Listing NGR: TM4348583797
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.