Description: The Swan Inn
Date Listed: 19 December 1961
English Heritage Building ID: 282978
OS Grid Reference: TL7693945293
OS Grid Coordinates: 576939, 245293
Latitude/Longitude: 52.0777, 0.5806
Explore more of the area around Clare, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
1. CLARE CLARE
2006 High Street
No 4 (Th e Swan Inn)
TL 74 NE 18/64 19.12.61.
An early C17 timber-framed and plastered building built circa 1600, possibly
on the site of an earlier inn of the same name. A building known as Le Swan
is recorded as being in Clare in the C15. 2 storeys. 3 window range, double-hung
sashes with glazing bars, in flush cased frames. The ground storey has a C19
or early C20 Inn front with pilasters and a continuous fascia cornice. On the
1st storey there is a very fine re-used carved oriel sill. It may have come
from the earlier inn but the arms and the richness of the carving suggest a more
important origin, probably the castle. The arms at the south end are those of
Richard Duke of York. Those on the north end are of Mortimer, Earl of March
quartering de Burgh. The Swan with a coronet collar chained to a tree was the
crest of Cloely, Duchess of York, wife of Richard, to whom Edward IV gave the
castle and honour of Clare in Dower.. Roof tiled with a large red brick chimnyey
stack with 4 octagonal shafts with moulded bases, a single square capping and
a square base, panelled on front. The interior has exposed framing, beams and
Nos 1 to 8 (consec) with Nos 28, 29 and 31, all the listed buildings in Well Lane,
Stone Hall and Nos 36 to 40 (consec) Nethergate Street form a group.
Listing NGR: TL7693545300
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.