Church of St Mary, Ixworth
Description: Church of St Mary
Date Listed: 3 February 1950
English Heritage Building ID: 283610
OS Grid Reference: TL9314070390
OS Grid Coordinates: 593140, 270390
Latitude/Longitude: 52.2977, 0.8310
Location: The Paddock, Ixworth, Suffolk IP31 2HH
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Ixworth, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
TL 9270-9370 IXWORTH HIGH STREET
3.2.50 Church of St Mary
Parish Church. Principally in random flint with freestone dressings. Late C14
south porch in knapped flint, with embattled parapet and flushwork panelling to
south face. Late C15 nave with clerestorey: north and south aisles. Nave roof
in 5 bays: low pitched, cambered and moulded tie-beams with winged angels at
base of braces and along cornice. Similar mouldings on both aisle roofs. Nave
and aisle roofs are leaded: money for 'ledying' bequeathed by Robert Garrard in
1533. Floors paved with small C18 tiles in cream and red. Mid C19 pulpit and
bench ends: traditional poppy-heads. C15 octagonal font, probably originally
on a high base. An iron-bound alms box near the south door. C14 chancel,
heavily restored in 1850's. Steeply pitched, plaintiled roof. On south side
the priest's door has a holy water stoup set into wall beside it. At the east
end, an external niche with cusped head, which probably contained a stone rood.
In the south east angle, an external turret for the stair to the rood loft.
Roof with alternate arched brace and hammerbeam trusses: spandrels infilled
with delicate tracery. C13 double piscina. On north side, tomb chest with
decorated pilasters and 3 shields to Richard Coddington (d.1567) and his wife:
Italian leaf-carving on rounded arch of back, 3 vertically-placed brasses.
Memorial east window of 1860's in Decorated style. Late C15 west tower with 4
diagonal buttresses and battlemented parapet. The plinth, parapet, and the
faces of the buttresses have decorated panels and emblems in knapped flint. The
third panel up on the south-east buttress has the crown and arrows saltire of
St. Edmund and the inscription 'Mast Robt Schot Abot': Robert Schot came from
Ixworth, and was Abbot at Bury St Bdmnnds from 1469 to 1474. 3 inscribed
tiles, 2 from the south wall, the other from near the west doorway, are now
placed inside the base of the tower: those from the south wall are dated 1472;
the other reads 'Thome Vyal gaf to the stepil iiij li'. Thomas Vyal left £4 to
the building of the tower in his will, proved 1472. This dating evidence
indicates that work on the tower began in the 1470's.
Listing NGR: TL9314070390
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.