Description: Church of St John the Baptist
Date Listed: 19 July 1984
English Heritage Building ID: 287217
OS Grid Reference: SU9304963731
OS Grid Coordinates: 493049, 163731
Latitude/Longitude: 51.3650, -0.6648
Explore more of the area around Windlesham, Surrey at Explore Britain.
SU 96SW WINDLESHAM C.P. CHURCH ROAD, WINDLESHAM
4/147 Church of St John the
Church. Rebuilt using old materials after a fire in 1680 on south side, tower
of 1838 by Robert Ebbels, chancel,nave and north aisle of 1874 by Ewan Christian.
South wall and porch of C17 brown brick; tower red and blue brick with stone
quoins to south side on stone plinth, red and blue brick in diaper pattern and
banding courses to nave, chancel and north aisle; plain tiled roofs with ridge
cresting. Aisled nave with tower to west and porch on south. Chancel to east
with chapel to south and vestry to north. Tower square with diagonal offset
buttresses; 3 stages with battlemented parapet. Stone surrounds to louvred
arched openings in top stage with clock below in apron panel to west face. Two
light trefoil head windows to first stage, one on south face blocked. Two
reused stone C15 & C16 windows to south aisle, one 2-light window in Decorated
style, one 3-light window in Perpendicular style. Remainder of windows late C19.
Ribbed and studded door in moulded wood frame under gauged brick head in south
porch. Arched double doors to west.
Interior:- 3 bay nave arcades on round stone piers with lighter coloured stone
plinths and moulded capitals; Stone human head stops to billeted hood mouldings
of arches. Brick chancel arch with dogtooth decorative band to arch. Double
arch opening to south chancel wall with billeted hood moulding. Early C20 marble
and alabaster mosaic reredos. C19 fittings. C17 pulpit. Late C19 octagonal
stone font with panelled sides on centre stem and angle columns.
Monuments:- Eastawall of south chapel - Monument to Sage and Robert Herrington
Died 1733 and 1757. Aedicular. Coloured stone panel in flanking pilasters under
swans neck pediment and shell crest; cartouche in apron below.
East wall of south chapel:- Oval wall plate to Thomas Tilbury. Died 1716.
Grey stone ground, lighter inscription panel on ribbon festoon.
PEVSNER:- Buildings of England, Surrey (1971) pp 527-8
Listing NGR: SU9304963731
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.