Starborough Castle Walls and Garden House, Dormansland
Description: Starborough Castle Walls and Garden House
Date Listed: 11 June 1958
English Heritage Building ID: 287463
OS Grid Reference: TQ4260744120
OS Grid Coordinates: 542607, 144120
Latitude/Longitude: 51.1785, 0.0388
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
There is also a scheduled monument with a similar name, Starborough Castle, at the same location as this building or very close to it. This is probably the same structure or related to it in some way.
Explore more of the area around Dormansland, Surrey at Explore Britain.
TQ 44SW LINGFIELD C.P. MOOR LANE
10/221 Starborough Castle
11/6/58 Garden House
Castle walls to moat and garden house. Walls circa 1431 or earlier, garden house
constructed on older foundations and employing old materials in 1754. Converted
into a billiard room in late C19. Moat walls of rough dressed stone rising
just above ground level and enclosing a square mound 50 metres x 50 metres with
round angle tower bases to inner wall. Garden house in north east corner of
mound. Dressed ashlar walls with brick and rubblestone patches, part rendered,
on inner face. Rectangular with diagonal offset angle buttresses, buttresses
to centre of east and west sides and battlemented parapets. Angle spire finials
with crockets, missing on south east and north east corners. One storey over
older vaulted cellars. Angle bay window to centre of north side with one stone
mullioned two-light window below and stone Y tracery in bay windows. Two similar
windows to each of the east and west sides under flat hood mouldings. Remains
of a door to south. Arched planked door in basement. Keystone stone dressed
opening above with inscription above reading:-
"OBSCURO POSITUS LOCO LENI PERFRUAR OTIO" stone panels either side in moulded
surrounds with crests to top half. Inscription to left reads "RESTITUIT JACOBUS
BARROW, 1754" Inscription to right:- "MUNIVIT REGINALDUS DE COBHAM per LICENUIAM
REGIS EDWARDI 3 tij DATE: 18 OCTOBRIS ANNO REG.15. DE MANSO KERNELLANDO 1342" to
right. Central stone roundel above. Small steep open pediment with dog tooth
band across base over gargoyle head.
Remains of castle built by Reginald Lord Cobham, founder of the College in
Lingfield, on the site of and incorporating earlier buildings, dismantled 1648.
Derelict at time of re-survey.
V.C.H.: Surrey Vol. i) p.417, Vol. iv) pp. 302-6, 398-401.
MANNING & BRAY : History of Surrey II p.347
Listing NGR: TQ4260744120
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.