Date Listed: 13 December 1984
English Heritage Building ID: 288184
OS Grid Reference: SU9459748313
OS Grid Coordinates: 494597, 148313
Latitude/Longitude: 51.2262, -0.6467
Explore more of the area around Wanborough, Surrey at Explore Britain.
SU 94NW WANBOROUGH C.P. HOGS BACK
House. 1896 by C.A. Voysey for Julian Sturgis, extended to the west in 1913/14 by
Herbert Baker. Whitewashed roughcast with smooth ashlar dressings, hipped slate
roof swept out at eaves. 2 storeys and attic in gables and under flat lead roofed,
leaded casement dormers. Multiple ridge stacks to left end, left of centre, right of
centre,and right end. Tiled pentice drip-course over ground floor, deep boarded
eaves. Stone dressed leaded casement fenestration. Entrance front: irregular broken
roof line. Hipped 2 storey range to left 3-windows on first floor and large battering
buttresses to right. Steep gable over narrow bay the other side of the buttress 2
windows on the first floor and one large mullioned and transomed window below.
Taller square tower to centre with roundel window over 4 first floor windows, irregularly
placed, and ground floor door. Gabled bay and wing to right with first floor windows
in continuous strip, 4 windows below. Slight projection, chamfered, to right end.
Main entrance to right of centre in chamfered edge, stone, recessed porch with block
Garden front: large gable to left end with slits in apex. 3 dormer windows buttressed
to right end. Irregular leaded casement fenestration, 9 windows across first floor,
7 below. 2 storey square bay to left with continuous window strip on both floors,
smaller square bay to right. Single storey extension to left end. Return wall to
right end with arched door giving access to service court.
Interior: some fittngs survive, mainly locks and keys. Board doors. Wood and stone
fireplace surrounds, coved ceilings.
PEVSNER: BUILDINGS OF ENGLAND, SURREY (1971 pp 267-8)
Listing NGR: SU9459748313
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.