Description: Phillips Memorial Cloister
Date Listed: 1 February 1991
English Heritage Building ID: 291287
OS Grid Reference: SU9679944090
OS Grid Coordinates: 496799, 144090
Latitude/Longitude: 51.1879, -0.6163
Explore more of the area around Godalming, Surrey at Explore Britain.
GODALMING BOROUGH ROAD
SU 9644 SE
Phillips Memorial Cloister
Memorial cloister. 1913 by H. Thackeray Turner, altered c1965 and 1986.
Purplish brick in Flemish bond and timber; plain tile roofs. Rectangular on
plan, having arcaded wall on east side; cloisters on north and west sides; and
on south side open timber pergola of c1965 replacing former cloister (D Coombs,
p.13). Exterior: west side: a flight of brick steps down to central archway
which has tile jambs and cambered timber lintel; stepped dentilled eaves. North
side: raking buttresses; stepped dentilled eaves. East side: 9 bays with 7-bay
segmental-arched arcade having tile plinth, imposts and hoodmoulds; the 4 outer
arches open, the 3 inner bays blind with central bench seat in tile-hung gabled
porch and with raised segmental-headed panel over; outer bays (the ends of the
cloister ranges) are gabled with round-arched vents; gabled tile coping.
Interior: cloistered sides have timber posts supporting gabled roofs. East
wall: central bay of arcade has commemorative ashlar plaque with recessed panel
having decorative rose border and coat of arms at top, semicircular former foun-
tain (now earth-filled) at base, and 4-step podium of stone setts below. The
courtyard is paved with stone setts (laid in 8 sections) and has central,
octagonal, raised flower bed, originally a pond but filled in 1986. The
cloister was erected on the site of the old village animal pound in memory of
J G Phillips of Godalming, who was chief wireless telegraphist on board the SS
Titanic which sank in 1913. Phillips remained at his post, telegraphing for
help, while the ship went down. D Coombs, A Godalming Walk (1976), p.13.
N Pevsner, The Buildings of England, Surrey (1971, 2nd edition), p.256.
Listing NGR: SU9679944090
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.