Description: Church of St John Sub Castro
Date Listed: 16 March 1970
English Heritage Building ID: 292973
OS Grid Reference: TQ4146810426
OS Grid Coordinates: 541468, 110426
Latitude/Longitude: 50.8760, 0.0094
Explore more of the area around Lewes, East Sussex at Explore Britain.
TQ 4110 SW LEWES ABINGER PLACE
9/2 (north side)
16.3.70 Church of St John sub Castro
Parish church. 1859 by George Cheeseman. Flint with red brick dressings.
Plain tiled roofs. West tower, nave with short chancel. Short tower with
castellated turrets. Very large lancet side-windows with unarchaeological
tracery divided by thin buttresses. West front with central tower projecting
slightly with clasping buttresses and recessed sides, the roof hidden by sloping
parapets. Central window with two lights, panelled below with rose above and
hoodmould, above pointed arched doorway with doubled boarded doors, overlight and
hoodmould. Side windows with two lights, over boarded doors. Doorway from
original church, probably C10, attached in wall to east. Unmoulded arch flanked
by three demishafts and demirolls. Slab capitals. Remains of chancel arch
also, on south side of building with restored inscription which commemorates a
certain Magnus of Danish royal stock who chose to become an Anchorite at this
place. Interior: Galleries on simple columns on three sides and short apsed
chancel. Tie-beam wagon roof. Painting: Christ and the Children, Venetian,
W.H. Godfrey, The Official Guide to Lewes, 1933, revised 1977, 39-40.
B.O.E., Sussex, 1965, 552.
Listing NGR: TQ4146810426
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.