Description: Bridge over the River Ouse
Date Listed: 29 October 1985
English Heritage Building ID: 293018
OS Grid Reference: TQ4194010228
OS Grid Coordinates: 541940, 110228
Latitude/Longitude: 50.8741, 0.0160
Explore more of the area around Lewes, East Sussex at Explore Britain.
TQ 4110 SE LEWES CLIFFE HIGH STREET
Bridge over the River Ouse
Bridge. 1726-27 by Nicholas Dubois, reconstructed in 1932. Red brick
with raised stone dressings to arch. Single arch scheme. Stone plinth
carrying early-mid C20 cast-iron balustrade with outflying standards.
Keystone to arch on north side inscribed: PEVENSEY
N. DUBOIS. SUV
1727, now not visible.
The bridge is shown in early prints with a solid brick balustrade and stone
piers. The footway on the north side was added in 1882 to the original bridge.
Listing NGR: TQ4194010228
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.