Description: Church of St Michael and Railings
Date Listed: 25 February 1952
English Heritage Building ID: 293208
OS Grid Reference: TQ4132210002
OS Grid Coordinates: 541322, 110002
Latitude/Longitude: 50.8722, 0.0072
Explore more of the area around Lewes, East Sussex at Explore Britain.
TQ 4110 SW & TQ 4109 NW LEWES HIGH STREET
9/226 & 14/226 (north side)
25.2.52 Church of St Michael & railings
Parish church. C13, C14, 1748, restored and extended in 1885. Flint with
stone dressings and plain tiled roofs, except pebbledashed tower with shingled
spire. West tower, nave with north and south aisles, chancel. Round west
tower with circular bell-opening to south. Tall octagonal spire. Main
street front to south of flint with stone plinth, door and window dressings and
moulded cornice-parapet with ball-finials at each end, essentially the front
given by the remodelling of the south aisle wall in 1748, gothicised in 1885.
3 central pointed-arch windows with hood-moulds, enclosing two lancets and
quatrefoil in arches, with pointed-arch entrances with panelled doors and hood-
moulds in outer bays, topped by oculi now enclosing quatrefoil windows. Main
entrance in west end of south aisle with segment-headed doorway topped by small
round-arched window above and to left. All gables parapetted and coped.
Interior: 5 bay C14 south arcade with double hollow-chamfered arches. Timber
arcade of 1748 to north aisle, panelled arches to octagonal columns with quasi-
Tuscan capitals. Chancel of 1885. Monuments: Tablet to Sir Nicholas Pelham,
d. 1559. Columned with kneeling parents and children below. Between the church
and the hall to the left are railings of cast-iron, neo-Gothic in style
probably dating from the alterations of 1885. Central gates with pointed
overthrow with Gothic-arched soffit; panelled openwork sides with cusped
arches and colonnettes. Railings and gates matching with low dog-rails.
Listing NGR: TQ4132110001
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.