Description: The Parish Church of St Nicholas
Date Listed: 30 August 1966
English Heritage Building ID: 295512
OS Grid Reference: TQ6469604835
OS Grid Coordinates: 564696, 104835
Latitude/Longitude: 50.8196, 0.3368
Explore more of the area around Pevensey, East Sussex at Explore Britain.
PEVENSEY GEORGE LANE
The Parish Church of
TQ 6404 38/256 St Nicholas
Built of flint with stone dressings and tiled roof.
Chancel, north chapel, nave with aisles and tower between the north chapel
and north aisle. Clerestory. C13 restored by George Gilbert Scott junior
in 1879, especially the chancel which had previously been shut off and disused.
The north chapel was rebuilt on the old foundations in 1882. The topmost
stage of the tower, which had been demolished about 1800, was rebuilt in
1893 with a broached shingled spire above it. Crown post roof. Monument
to John Wheatley.
Listing NGR: TQ6469604837
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.