Description: Wilmington Priory
Date Listed: 30 August 1966
English Heritage Building ID: 295804
OS Grid Reference: TQ5438904254
OS Grid Coordinates: 554389, 104254
Latitude/Longitude: 50.8173, 0.1903
This building is also a scheduled monument.
Explore more of the area around Long Man, East Sussex at Explore Britain.
WILMINGTON THE STREET
TQ 5404 44/172 30.8.66 Wilmington Priory
The property of the Sussex Archaeological Trust. This priory was an offshoot
of the Benedictine Abbey of Grestain in Normandy which was founded about 1200
as a sort of grange or manorhouse for the supervision of the Abbey's English
estates. It was suppressed with all the alien houses in 1414. The present
L-shaped house is a principally C14 building incorporating some C13 work,
the whole altered and adapted in the C18. Two storeys. Five windows. Faced
with flints and stone rubble with red brick window dressings, the south wing
cemented with an angle buttress. Hipped tiled roof. Sash windows with glazing
bars intact. Doorway with flat hood on brackets. The west end of the ground
floor was the porch. This has C14 stone quadripartite vaulting and a C13
stone pointed north doorway. To the south-west of the house are the ruins
of the C14 Upper Hall of ashlar, flints and some brick consisting of 2 octagonal
turrets with a wall between having a large window of 3 tiers of 3 lights with
stone mullions and transoms. To the north of the house are further ruins,
beneath which is a C14 vaulted undercroft. AM.
Listing NGR: TQ5444604231
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.