Description: Clayton Windmills and the Millhouse Attached
Date Listed: 28 October 1957
English Heritage Building ID: 302431
OS Grid Reference: TQ3036613368
OS Grid Coordinates: 530366, 113368
Latitude/Longitude: 50.9051, -0.1473
Explore more of the area around Hassocks, West Sussex at Explore Britain.
CLAYTON MILL LANE
Clayton Windmills and
the Millhouse attached
TQ 31 SW 23/45 28.10.57
Two complete windmills, the remains of a third and the millhouse adjoining. The
2 complete windmills are always known as "Jack and Jill". "Jill" is the older and
dates from 1821. This is a post mill that was moved to this site from Dyke Road,
Brighton, about 1850. Round house of tarred weather-boarding. Roof and breasts covered
with sheets of metal. Sweeps without shutters. Fantail missing. Machinery intact.
"Jack" is a tower mill dating from 1866. It is built of brick, faced with metal plates,
tarred. Gallery above ground floor. Beehive cap with finial. Framework for the
fantail complete. Main sweeps missing. The roof construction is a skilful example
of a spheroid framing covering. "Jack" is joined to the adjoining mid C19 millhouse
of one storey, which is stuccoed, and to the ground floor of a third mill, older than
"Jill" which was called Duncton mill. This is the round house of a mid C18 post
mill taken down in 1866. All 3 together are occupied as a dwellinghouse.
Listing NGR: TQ3036613368
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.