Description: Stoneleigh Abbey
Date Listed: 11 April 1967
English Heritage Building ID: 308140
OS Grid Reference: SP3184671250
OS Grid Coordinates: 431846, 271249
Latitude/Longitude: 52.3384, -1.5340
Explore more of the area around Stoneleigh, Warwickshire at Explore Britain.
6/278 Stoneleigh Abbey
Present sandstone ashlar house built on four sides of a central open space
roughly coincident with cloister garth of Cisterian Abbey founded in 1155. It
embodies some remains of the abbey, several C12 arched doorways and portions of
the walls. Also an early C14 undercroft, probably to the dormitory at the south
end of the east wing. This is 70' x 28' with a central row of octagonal columns
supporting quadrapartite vaulting. Northern wing (Long Gallery) and east wing
date from 1570s but incorporate south transept and south aisle of the monastic
buildings. Northern wing largely reconstructed (by Charles S Smith of Warwick
in early C19) when Gothic porch built in 1836. East wing of three storeys and
attic is a succession of nine gables. Narrow south wing built in 1770. West
wing designed by Francis Smith of Warwick between 1714-1726. Rectangle 170'
x 45'. The west facade consists of a lower heavily rusticated ground storey, a
main floor approached by an exterior staircase, and two upper storeys surmounted
by a heavy projecting cornice and balustrade. Each of the two upper storeys has
15 windows; five in the central slightly projecting section; three in each of
the recessed sections, and two in each of the slightly projecting flanking
sections. Giant fluted Ionic angle pilasters. On the main floor at the head of
the staircase is a doorway enriched by a curved pediment and fluted pilasters.
On this floor the windows have curved pediments, and on the floor above trian-
gular pediments, and on the top floor no pediments. All windows are sashes with
glazing bars and are in moulded architraves with keyblocks. Interior of west
wing contains a range of five State Apartments, a central entrance hall or
saloon, flanked by two drawing rooms to north, and by a dining room and sitting
room on south. Chapel immediately behind the southern two rooms. Saloon of mid
C18 date with very rich stucco work and screens of scagliola columns which
divide room into 1 - 3 - 1 bays. Immediately behind saloon is early Cl8
staircase by Thomas Eboral of Warwick and decorated wall panels and ceiling of
c.1764 by Robert Moore of Warwick. Chapel decorated in 1744 with woodwork by
George Eboral and Benjamin King, stucco work by John Wright.
Listing NGR: SP3184571262
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.