Description: Priory Farmhouse
Date Listed: 11 November 1952
English Heritage Building ID: 309013
OS Grid Reference: SP2345086833
OS Grid Coordinates: 423450, 286833
Latitude/Longitude: 52.4789, -1.6561
Explore more of the area around Maxstoke, Warwickshire at Explore Britain.
MAXSTOKE CHURCH ROAD
SP2386 (South side)
17/108 Priory Farmhouse
Inner gatehouse to Priory of Augustinian Canons; converted to a house late C16.
Early C14 with late C16 alterations. Squared and irregular coursed sandstone.
Timber-framed with brick infill and red brick. Plain-tiled roof. Red brick ridge
stack and late C16 projecting side stack on the rear, of coursed sandstone with
red brick to upper courses. 2 storeys and attic. North front has 2 first floor
late C16 or early C17 ovolo mullion cross-frame casements of sandstone. Another
window to a gable above the doorway has a moulded stone architrave and 3-light
wood cross-frame casement of C18/C19. At ground floor a doorway in early C19
rusticated stone surround. C20 plank door. 3-centred double chamfered
carriageway arch, early C14, now blocked. Rear wall has opposing carriageway
arch now blocked. Late C16 cross-frame casements in rear wall including one of 3
lights to first floor hall. The west gable end has mid/late C16 timber-framing
of vertical studding to part of the wall and the east gable end has been rebuilt
in red brick in Cl8/C19. Interior: Mid/late C16 roof in 5 bays. Through-purlins
with wind bracing, cambered tie beams and raking Queen struts. Original
chamfered arches of early C14 to some openings on the interior. Mid C17
staircase with symmetrically turned balusters with square newels and moulded
rail. Run-through panelling reset in one room having C16 ceiling enriched with
moulded main beams and painted with shields of arms. Originally at first floor
and moved to ground floor. Originally the inner gatehouse with priors lodging
above of the priory of Augustinian Canons founded by William de Clinton, Earl of
Huntingdon, in 1336 and consecrated in 1342. Scheduled ancient monument.
(VCH: Warwickshire, Vol IV; Buildings of England; Warwickshire: p349)
Listing NGR: SP2345086833
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.