Description: Former Hangar at North East Corner of Former Airfield
Date Listed: 25 November 1987
English Heritage Building ID: 316298
OS Grid Reference: SU0569771428
OS Grid Coordinates: 405697, 171428
Latitude/Longitude: 51.4418, -1.9194
SU07SE COMPTON BASSETT YATESBURY
1385/11/286 Former Hangar at north east corner of former airfield
Hangar for the servicing and repair of aircraft. 1916. Timber-framed with corrugated iron cladding and tarred roofing felt to curved and boarded roof. Rectangular plan, with full-width gable end openings, with lean-to annexes and brick chimney to semi-sunk boiler house on north side. Small-paned iron windows, 15 each side, set high up. Ends have timber boarding in gables and wide iron gantries (later C20 replacements) for sliding doors, surviving intact on west end and the east end refronted in later C20, in brick with two large doors. INTERIOR: similar roof form to the General Service Flight Sheds (qv).
HISTORY: The Aeroplane Repair Section specialised in the repair and servicing of aircraft, and this is the most complete surviving example of an ARS shed in Britain. It relates to two Gerneral Service Flight Sheds (qv) on the north side of the former airfield: a unique survival of a First World War RFC airfield with its hangars for service and housing a squadron of aircraft. Yatesbury opened in November 1916 as a Training Depot Station with two separate aerodromes, each to house two Royal Flying Corps reserve squadrons for the training of pilots.
Listing NGR: SU0570271431
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.