Description: Park House
Date Listed: 4 May 1989
English Heritage Building ID: 324615
OS Grid Reference: SD9339663337
OS Grid Coordinates: 393396, 463337
Latitude/Longitude: 54.0659, -2.1024
Explore more of the area around Bordley, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
SD 96 SW BORDLEY
18/29 Park House
House. C17 with late C18 extensions. Limestone rubble, graduated stone
slate roof. 2-storey, 2-bay C17 house with slightly recessed C18 added bay
left and stable bay right. 2-bay house has half-glazed door in chamfered
surround flanked by 4-, now 2,-light recessed chamfered mullioned windows
with hoodmoulds; similar windows of 2 and 3 lights to first floor and a
blocked circular window far right. An inserted date stone above the door
has the letters " 1685" . End rebuilt stacks. Interior: the door opens
into a narrow hall with original wall left and an inserted partition right.
The right room has a large blocked fireplace with chamfered cambered arch to
right gable, and 2 spine beams which continue over the partition wall into
the hall. At the far end of the hall a stone half-round stair built into a
rear outshut. The blocked circular window is said to have lit a bacon
cupboard. Added bay to left: board door right, small square 4-pane sash
left, 16-pane sash to first floor. Stable bay to right: a board door left
with small square loading door above. The date stone was removed c1960
from Bleak Bank, a ruined farmhouse north of Park House and formerly the
house of the Proctors. A second date stone ("T 1660 P") is built into the
doorway of a wash house attached to left bay.
Listing NGR: SD9339663337
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.