Description: The Abbey House
Date Listed: 23 February 1954
English Heritage Building ID: 326511
OS Grid Reference: NZ9023811118
OS Grid Coordinates: 490238, 511118
Latitude/Longitude: 54.4874, -0.6085
Explore more of the area around Whitby, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
1811 The Abbey House
NZ 9011 2/10 23.2.54.
Medieaval in origin and thought to incorporate part of the Abbot's House. '
The plan is however a complicated one and the building contains work chiefly
of the Cl6 but also of all subsequent periods. Main part is 3 storeys and
attics. Patched ashlar with various windows - old sashes with architraves
and cornices, mullioned and transomed stone windows, ordinary sashes, and
3-light stone mullioned windows, all irregularly placed. Stone cornice,
parapet, pantiles and dormers. Right hand wing projects at right angles.
This is 3 storeys, ashlar, bands. Sashes in late Cl7 stone architraves
with triple keyblocks, the end 4 windows having architraves, pulvinated
friezes and pediments. 2 windows to ground floor: First floor: 4 windows
with scrolled broken pediments. Ruined part to North was built by Sir Hugh
Cholmley in the reign of Charles II. This part was ruined in a great wind
circa 1775 and was never rebuilt. Monumental 2 storey front elevation of
11 windows with stone architraves, firezes and cornices, one with central
Renaissance projecting feature in 2 stages crowned by broken segmental pediment
with foliage swags. Panelled door in eaved surround flanked by Ionic columns,
with similar columns to sides of feature. Frieze and cornice. Similarly
arranged Corinthian column to first floor enclosing window with architrave.
Interior of house itself has 4 C16 panelled rooms, 2 Cl6 staircases with
balustades and newels, 2 immense kitchen fire arches of 4 centres, a pair
of old stone fireplaces in a further room with Caernarvon heads, 2 Cl7 bolection
moulded fireplaces, a wall containing a Cl2 round column with simple moulded
capital, probably reused, and other features. There are a few items of
old portable furniture belonging to the house. The property was bought
by the Cholmley family in 1555 after being held on lease by them since the
Reformation, and was built out of stone and materials from the adjoining
Abbey. It is said that in 1570 the house was of wood and that it was rebuilt
in 1626 in stone, but the evidence on this point is not conclusive. NMR.
Abbey House and Youth Hostel form a group.
Listing NGR: NZ9024511120
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.