Wydale Hall, Snainton
Description: Wydale Hall
Date Listed: 18 January 1967
English Heritage Building ID: 327434
OS Grid Reference: SE9281983312
OS Grid Coordinates: 492819, 483312
Latitude/Longitude: 54.2371, -0.5774
Location: Silpho, North Yorkshire YO13 9DG
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Snainton, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
SE 98 SW SNAINTON WYDALE LANE
(west side, off)
7/114 Wydale Hall
House, now Diocesan conference centre. C18, but said to have C17 origins;
extended and altered 1877 for the Cayley family; further extension and
alteration in 1904, by Sidney Kitson, on acquisition by Mr H Illingworth.
Dressed sandstone with tooled quoins and dressings; slate roofs. Irregular
plan. Garden front: 3-storey, 3-window front to core building; 2-storey,
projecting extension wing to right, with 2-storey, 5-window canted bay to
end right; single-storey, single window extension to left. The entrance was
removed in C19 to right return front of extension wing. Original central
entrance to core building now blocked by canted bay with a half-hexagonal
roof. To right, in re-entrant angle to extension wing, is a glazed garden
door beneath a loggia of Ionic columns. 12-pane sashes to ground and first
floor, and unequal 9-pane sash to second floor flanked by C20 replacement
casements. Keyed raised surrounds to all windows. Parapet with recessed
panels obscures roof. Extension wing: ground-floor sashes to bay window
extend to ground level. Remaining windows are 12-pane sashes in raised
surrounds to ground floor, and unequal 9-pane sashes to first floor.
Modillion eaves cornice to bay and plain coped parapet above. Entrance
front: 2-storey, 2-window projecting cross gable to left, with 2-storey, 3-
window front to right. Single-storey glazed entrance lobby with Ionic
portico contains panelled door beneath patterned overlight. To left, open-
pedimented cross gable contains unequal 9-pane sashes to ground and first
floors, and keyed oculus to tympanum. Drops of fruit carved in high relief
separate windows to both floors. Sill and lintel bands to both floors, and
fasciated keystone to ground-floor centre window. Raked modillion cornice
to pediment. Interior: traces of the C18 building survive only in the
panelled shutters intact in ground-floor front window to right of original
entrance and to all 3 first-floor front windows. The ceilings of all the
main ground-floor rooms incorporate extensive plasterwork taken from
original Robert Adams moulds and introduced during the 1904 works. The 3
ground-floor rooms in the 1877 and 1904 extensions also contain C18
fireplaces and overmantels with enriched surrounds, 2 with integral
Listing NGR: SE9281983312
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.