Description: Church of All Saints and St James
Date Listed: 14 July 1955
English Heritage Building ID: 329317
OS Grid Reference: SE6659579072
OS Grid Coordinates: 466595, 479072
Latitude/Longitude: 54.2031, -0.9806
Explore more of the area around Nunnington, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
NUNNINGTON CHURCH STREET
SE 664790 (east side)
9/54 Church of All Saints and
(formerly listed as 'Church
- of All Saints)
Church. Late C13 nave and chancel; tower of 1672; restored and reroofed,
and porch, vestry and tower arch rebuilt in 1883-84 (on rainwaterheads).
Rubble stone with stone flag roofs. West tower; 3-bay nave and south porch;
chancel, vestry and organ chamber. 2-stage, quoined tower on chamfered
plinth. Pointed west window of 2 cusped pointed lights and panel tracery
beneath hoodmould. Paired louvred bell openings in chamfered square-headed
surrounds, with chamfered mullions. Chamfered string courses to bell stage
and beneath embattled parapet with crocketed pinnacles. Gabled south porch
with scalloped barge boards. Pointed chamfered doorway beneath head-stopped
hoodmould, the west stop original. 3 pointed windows, with cusped
Y tracery, to east, on chamfered sill band. Nave north side repeats south
side, without arch. Chancel has pointed priest's door with hoodmould. Low-
side lancet to west. To east, pointed window with geometrical tracery and
hoodmould. Chancel north side masked by gabled vestry which contains reset
lancet in gable end. Paired octagonal stacks rise at base of chancel roof.
East window of 2 lights with geometrical tracery beneath corbelled
hoodmould. Coped gables terminating in gablets, and gable crosses, to nave
and chancel. Interior: 2-centred tower arch. Double-chamfered pointed
chancel arch on corbels. Door and window openings deeply splayed and
quoined. Crown post nave roof. 2 fragments of C10 stone carved with
interlace and part of a dragon are preserved in the north-west corner of the
nave. C17 pulpit with incised carving and blind arcaded panels. Tall
cylindrical font with octagonal cover and finial, probably C17. Restored
piscina and aumbry in sanctuary. West screen and lectern by Thompson of
Kilburn. Monuments. Nave, south side: reset effigy under crocketed ogee-
headed canopy, said to be that of Sir Walter de Teye (d1325). Marble wall
monument by James Gibbs and executed by Rysbrack, to Lord Widdrington
(d1743). Nave, north side: pedimented wall tablet to Thomas Jackson
(d1760), "well known for his extraordinary Performances upon the Turf".
Wall tablet to Emily Cleaver (d1806), by Taylor of York. Sanctuary, north
wall: wall monument with segmental pediment and putti heads to Richard
Graham, First Viscount Preston (d1695). His grave slab with brass
escutcheon lies to south of sanctuary.
Listing NGR: SE6659679073
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.