Description: The Abbey Church
Date Listed: 9 September 1985
English Heritage Building ID: 329560
OS Grid Reference: SE5980678828
OS Grid Coordinates: 459806, 478828
Latitude/Longitude: 54.2017, -1.0847
Explore more of the area around Ampleforth, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
SE 57 NE AMPLEFORTH AMPLEFORTH ABBEY
5/1 The Abbey Church
Church. Begun in 1922, completed in 1961. By Sir Giles Gilbert Scott.
Rock-face limestone with ashlar dressings, Westmorland slate roof.
Cruciform plan with 4-bay chancel and nave, crossing tower, 3-bay south
transept with chapels to east and west and single bay north transept
incorporated into school buildings. West front: chamfered triple plinth and
2 bands beneath tall pointed recess flanked by flat buttresses, containing 3
tall lancets with roundel above. To left: linking passage to the Monastery
with pair of lancets beneath hoodmould and square-headed 2-light window
above. To right: flat-roofed chapel with 2 sets of paired lancets beneath
hoodmoulds. South facade: flat-roofed transept has double-flight staircase
with 9 lancets beneath entrance, leading to square-headed doorway with 3
stepped lancets in pointed recess above, flanked by chapels with 4 sets of
paired lancets beneath hoodmoulds. Tall gable end against tower with 3
lancets in pointed recess flanked by lancets to clerestory of chancel and
nave. Tower: 3 paired belfry openings to each face separated by triple
responds and flanked by flat buttresses. Embattled parapet. West end:
flat-roofed end bays of nave flanked by semi-octagonal embattled turrets.
Double chamfered plinth carries 2 sets of 4 lancets, with band above
carrying 3 tall lancets flanked by pilaster strips. Tall gable end against
tower with single roundel. Interior: shallow domes over crossing; nave and
choir, with tunnel-vaulting over transept and end bays of nave. Altar
canopy by Scott, erected 1930. Sculpture: a northern French Virgin and 2
crucifixes, one C14, the other C15, all of wood. Pevsner N. "Yorkshire: The
North Riding" 1966.
Listing NGR: SE5980678828
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.