Description: Mount Grace Priory
Date Listed: 31 March 1970
English Heritage Building ID: 332435
OS Grid Reference: SE4493298513
OS Grid Coordinates: 444932, 498513
Latitude/Longitude: 54.3801, -1.3097
There is also a scheduled monument with a similar name, Mount Grace Priory Carthusian Monastery: Monastic Precinct, Fishponds, Moat, Mill and Well-Houses, at the same location as this building or very close to it. This is probably the same structure or related to it in some way.
Explore more of the area around East Harlsey, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
EAST HARLSEY A 19
SE 49 NW
(east side, off)
2/2 Mount Grace Priory
Ruins of Carthusian Priory. 1398 and C15. Ashlar, coursed squared stone.
Plan: great cloister to north, church to centre, scanty remains of lay
brothers' quarters to south. Gateway to west attached to Mount Grace House
(qv). Church: ruins of nave, north and south transepts with central
crossing and tower, chancel. Nave: now ruinous, west wall with moulded
pointed-arched door below large 4-centred-arched window, both with hoods.
Central tower of 2 stages above roof level. Offset diagonal buttresses,
tall pointed-arched, cusped belfry openings with hoodmoulds. Moulded eaves
band, embattled parapet with remains of pinnacles to each corner. South
transept has offset diagonal buttresses with large Perpendicular window
opening with hoodmould. Chancel has remains of north wall with 3 high
4-centred-arched windows. Interior: crossing has clustered responds with
moulded capitals, to moulded pointed arches with hoodmoulds. Great
cloister: 270 feet by 230 feet; around an open square are remains of single
cells with their attached gardens for approximately 20 monks. Courtyard
wall remains to first-floor height, with front walls of cells rising to
2-storey height. Corbels at first-floor level for former covered walkway.
Each cell has a 4-centred-arched doorway with a right-angled food opening to
the side. To north of cloister is a complete monks cell restored c1901. It
is of 2 storeys. Central 4-centred-arched doorway with hoodmould and food
opening to right. First-floor band. Stone coping, graduated stone slate
roof. Behind each cell is garden wall and lavatory set in the wall with a
chamfered doorway. To east side of cloister is a wellhead with gabled
vaulted roof. To the north-west of the church nave is the remains of an
oriel window, probably to the Prior's house. To south-west of church
attached to the Mount Grace House is the main entrance under 3 pointed
arches. History: it is the best preserved charterhouse in England. It was
founded by Thomas of Holland, Duke of Surrey in 1398; and is the last but
one of 7 charterhouses erected between 1343 and 1414. VCH, II, pp 24-26.
Mount Grace Priory English Heritage Guide Book. Ancient Monument No 10,
Listing NGR: SE4492898574
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.