Church of St Cuthbert, Sessay
Description: Church of St Cuthbert
Date Listed: 20 December 1988
English Heritage Building ID: 332889
OS Grid Reference: SE4642574729
OS Grid Coordinates: 446425, 474729
Latitude/Longitude: 54.1663, -1.2904
Location: Race Lane, Sessay, North Yorkshire YO7 3NA
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Sessay, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
In the entry for the following:-
SE 47 SE
7/31 CHURCH LANE
Church of St Cuthbert
The Grade shall be amended to read II* (star)
SESSAY CHURCH LANE
SE 47 SE
7/31 Church of St Cuthbert
Church. 1847-8. By William Butterfield for Viscount Downe. Coursed squared stone
with ashlar dressings, graduated stone slate roof, shingled spire. 4-bay nave with
south aisle, south porch and west tower; lower 2-bay chancel with north vestry.
In early C14 Gothic style. Quoins; quoined openings; chamfered plinth and sill
string to all but south aisle; offset buttresses, diagonal to tower and chancel.
Tower: 2 offset stages; wide shallow vice on south with offsets to top and right
and slit window; 2-light west window with cinquefoil below quatrefoil window; square-
headed 2-light north window; 2-light louvred belfry openings; broached spire with
weather-cock. Nave: steeply-gabled porch has cusped wooden-arched entry, cusped
bargeboards, small 2-light windows to returns and board inner door in pointed-arched
surround of 2 chamfered orders; aisle, under shallower-pitched roof, has plain 2-
light window with ogee-arched lights on left of porch and similar 4-light window
on right, in west end a 2-light and at east end a circular window, both with
decorative tracery; north side has a 3-light and a 2-light window. Chancel: single
and 2-light south windows; east window of 3 lights with traceried circle at top
and head-stopped hoodmould; shouldered-arched vestry door and side-lights; raised
east verge with coping and cross-finial. Interior: double-chamfered tower arch;
pointed-arched aisle arcade of 2 hollow-moulded orders with simple decorative motifs;
moulded chancel arch; crown-post roof trusses with quadrant braces to nave;
encaustic tile floor with coat of arms, simple aumbry and piscina, and painted
panelled roof over altar, to chancel. Octagonal font with carved sides and tapering
octagonal wooden cover with iron finial. Simple brass set in chancel floor to
Walter Thomas Magnus, d 1550, Archdeacon of the North Riding.
Listing NGR: SE4642574729
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.