Description: Crayke Castle
Date Listed: 28 February 1952
English Heritage Building ID: 333416
OS Grid Reference: SE5590970680
OS Grid Coordinates: 455909, 470680
Latitude/Longitude: 54.1289, -1.1459
There is also a scheduled monument with a similar name, Crayke Castle: a Motte and Bailey and Later Stone Castle of the Bishops of Durham, Incorporating Part of an Anglo-Saxon Monastic Cemetery, at the same location as this building or very close to it. This is probably the same structure or related to it in some way.
Explore more of the area around Crayke, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
SE 57 SE CRAYKE CHURCH HILL
2/16 (north side)
28.2.52 Crayke Castle
(formerly listed as
Crayke Castle and
17.5.60 ruins in grounds of
Tower house with attached kitchen range to rear on which the vaulted undercroft
alone survives and ruins on a further range - 'The New Tower'.
Main range: Early C15 with C18 and C19 alterations and additions, it was built
before the kitchen range which is documented to 1441-50. New Tower: probably second
half C15. For the Bishops of Durham. Dressed sandstone. Roof of main range
concealed, lead roof to kitchen. Main range: rectangular block 70 ft 9 ins x
28 ft 4 ins. Four storeys, each being set back slightly. Bands to floor levels and
battlements. Tall, narrow chamfered square headed windows. The entrance to the
south side is an C18 alteration, the original entrance being by an external
staircase range on the north-east side (now disappeared) to the principal room at
1st floor level. The blocked doorways are 2-centred with hollow chamfers. C19
range attached to north-east. Interior is now subdivided but the moulded
cross-beamed ceilings are intact. Fireplaces to ground and 1st floors. C18
features: a cut-string staircase with 2 turned or twisted balusters per tread and
curtail with turned newel.
Kitchen range: The west wall is partly rebuilt in later materials but has a
corbelled-out embattled round turret for spiral staircase to the north-west corner.
Chamfered doorway with key block. Interior: tunnel vaulted with 13 heavy unmoulded
transverse arches or ribs. Now subdivided. (The undercroft is at ground floor
The New Tower: Completely detached building, now ruinous. Once a 3-storey L-shaped
block (ground plan 1566-1570). All that remains are the barrel-vaulted undercrofts,
stairs to 1st floor level and the walls of the porch.
To rear of kitchen remains of foundations of a building that was described as The
Old Hall in 1441.
Stands on site of Norman Castle. Dismantled in 1647. In the C18 the main range was
used as a farmhouse. Pevsner, N., Yorkshire, North Riding, 1966, p 131. Victoria
County History, North Yorkshire, Vol II, 1923, p 119 ff.
Listing NGR: SE5590970680
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.