Description: Parish Church of the Holy Cross
Date Listed: 14 May 1959
English Heritage Building ID: 396279
OS Grid Reference: TL2622162468
OS Grid Coordinates: 526221, 262468
Latitude/Longitude: 52.2459, -0.1526
Explore more of the area around Yelling, Cambridgeshire at Explore Britain.
TL 26 SE YELLING HIGH STREET
3/149 Parish Church of
14.5.59 the Holy Cross
Parish church of which the north arcade c.1180-90 is the oldest
surviving part. South aisle and arcade added in late C13, and
chancel rebuilt. In late C14 clerestorey added to nave, west
tower and south porch built, and walls of chancel altered and
raised. Church restored in 1730 and in 1868-69 when the north
aisle was rebuilt and the south aisle and porch in 1889. The
spire was removed in C19. Walls of rubble with Barnack
limestone and clunch dressings. Roofs of slates and lead.
South elevation. Tower of three stages with moulded plinth and
embattled parapet and grotesque gargoyles at the angles. Bell-
chamber window of two trefoiled lights with a quatre-foil.
Three, two-trefoiled light windows to clerestorey. Two original
C13 windows in south aisle wall, south doorway has two-centred
arch with moulded label and mask stops. South porch with outer
two-centred archway with hollow-chamfered, moulded jambs.
Chancel has two, two-light cinquefoil windows with a quatre-foil
in a two-centred head. Interior. North arcade of three bays
with two-centred arches supported by circular piers with
scalloped capitals and moulded bases. South arcade later with
octagonal piers moulded capitals and bases. Chancel arch c.1300
has a two-centred arch with responds of three grouped shafts
with moulded capitals and bases. Tower arch, two-centred with
two hollow-chamfered orders and middle order springing from a
moulded capital. Late C13 double piscanae. Monument in south
wall tomb recess late C13. Font C13, square bowl with splayed
angles with octagonal stem and moulded base. Sun-dial on
south-east buttress of south aisle.
RCHM (Hunts) p308. VCH (Hunts) p382.
Pevsner: Buildings of England, p372.
Listing NGR: TL2622162468
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.