Church of St Mary (Including Ruins of Benedictine Convent), Bungay
Description: Church of St Mary (Including Ruins of Benedictine Convent)
Date Listed: 9 May 1949
English Heritage Building ID: 411528
OS Grid Reference: TM3368589733
OS Grid Coordinates: 633685, 289733
Latitude/Longitude: 52.4555, 1.4380
Location: 1 A144, Bungay, Suffolk NR35 1AX
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Bungay, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
638/1/98 ST MARY'S STREET
09-MAY-49 (East side)
CHURCH OF ST MARY (INCLUDING RUINS OF
Also Known As: CHURCH OF THE HOLY CROSS, ST MARY'S STREET
Formerly this was the Church of the Holy Cross, attached to the Benedictine
Convent, the ruins of which remains on the east side of the church. Damage
to the older building was caused by the fire of 1688.The North Porch
dates back to 1309; the north aisle is early C15. The south aisle roof
was burnt and re-roofed, as dated on a rafter, in 1699, and the church
reopened in 1701. There is no chancel. The nave is C15, as is the
Listing NGR: TM3368589733
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.