Peterstone Farm House, Burnham Overy
Description: Peterstone Farm House
Date Listed: 1 March 1985
English Heritage Building ID: 416829
OS Grid Reference: TF8613842992
OS Grid Coordinates: 586138, 342992
Latitude/Longitude: 52.9520, 0.7693
Location: B1155, Burnham Overy, Norfolk NR23 1RR
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Burnham Overy, Norfolk at Explore Britain.
TF 84 SE BURNHAM OVERY BURNHAM OVERY TOWN
7/72 Peterstone Farm House.
Farmhouse. Rebuilt as cottages c.1830, including medieval remains
of the Augustinian Canons house, Peterstone Priory, founded before 1200
and incorporated 1449 as a hospital into the house of the Walsingham
Augustinian Canons, the guardians of the Shrine of Our Lady. Gault brick,
smut pantile roofs to late build, flint, carstone, clunch and brick to
north front of early build. 2 storey with attics, 'T' plan, upright medieval,
crosspiece c.1830. North front of early build has in situ single chamfer
doorway with hood mould arch, brick end quoins and cut stone kneeler to
east gable, 3 ground floor windows and 2 first floor casements of 2 and
3 lights with lead glazing bars in brick dressed openings. This build
is expressed as single bay central gable of c.1830 west front with 2 2-
bay flanking wings. Gable has one ground, one first and one attic sash
with glazing bars, end pilasters, first floor platband, moulded brick
cornice and gable eaves with apex stack. Wings have one ground and one
first floor sash with glazing bars, one first floor blocked window, all
openings under flat rubbed brick arches. South wing part glazed door
under radial glazing bar sash, round rubbed brick arch, corresponding
door to north blocked. Moulded brick eaves cornice, coped parapet gables,
2 end stacks. Details identify as Holkham Estate building.
Listing NGR: TF8613842992
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.