Parish Church of Saint Peter and Saint Paul, Upton-upon-Severn
Description: Parish Church of Saint Peter and Saint Paul
Date Listed: 25 March 1968
English Heritage Building ID: 424719
OS Grid Reference: SO8515140277
OS Grid Coordinates: 385151, 240277
Latitude/Longitude: 52.0607, -2.2180
Location: Church Walk, Upton Upon Severn, Worcestershire WR8 0HA
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Upton-upon-Severn, Worcestershire at Explore Britain.
UPTON-UPON-SEVERN OLD STREET
2/100 (east side)
25.3.68 Parish Church of
Saint Peter and
1878-9 by Sir A W Blomfield for G E Martin of Ham Court. An imposing church with a
landmark spire. Yellow rock-faced Stanway stone with Bath stone dressings. Nave,
aisles, chancel, N chapel and SE vestry/organ loft. NW 3-stage tower with 1831 broach
spire. Decorated style. Five bay nave with octagonal piers and paired clerestory
lights. Five light east window, 4 light west window.
Tie beam and collar nave roof with crown posts and arched bracing to purlins from
queen struts. Ceiled chancel roof, partly painted by Heaton, Butler and Bayne 1884.
Elaborately carved sedilion and piscina in south chancel wall.
Significant fittings include carved stone and alabaster reredos c1880, iron and bronze
Arts and Crafts type altar rails 1907 by Nelson Dawson, timber chancel screen moved to
west end of nave and stone font c1880.
Fine west window c1906 by Christopher Whall, good east window, c1884, Heaton Butler
and Bayne, poor nave glass 1899-1902.
From previous church, C18 font in N chapel, marble wall plaque to Mary Bramley d. 1737
in N aisle and other, plain, wall plaques. C14 mutilated effigy of a knight broken
and lost in 1757, rediscovered 1834. Said to be one of the Bateler family.
Building News. 35. 1879. 558.
Listing NGR: SO8515140277
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.