Description: Blythburgh and District Hospital
Date Listed: 26 March 1996
English Heritage Building ID: 461099
OS Grid Reference: TM4397776272
OS Grid Coordinates: 643977, 276272
Latitude/Longitude: 52.3302, 1.5794
Explore more of the area around Blythburgh, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
TM 47 NW Blythburgh & District
Formerly known as: Blything Union Workhouse.
Blything Hundred House of Industry, now disused hospital. 1765, by Thomas Fulcher of Debenham. Major alterations 1836 and 1948. Red brick, with gabled and hipped concrete tile roofs. Stacks and attic donners removed. On inner sides, plinth, first floor band, and moulded eaves. Windows are mainly steel casements in segment headed openings. H-plan, with main cross range higher than side ranges. Entrance range, to north, partly dl'1nolished. Main range, 22 windows. Side ranges extend approx 16 windows to south and 5 to north. Main range south front has a slightly projecting centre, 3 bays, under a pediment. Elliptical arched entrance to cross passage. Above, a square-domed wooden cupola with round arched bell openings. On each side, regular fenestration with minor alterations. Side ranges have similar fenestration. At the south end of the east range, a chapel with 2 casements on each side, with Gothic glazing bars. Between the west windows, a similar traceried light inserted in a blocked doorway, and a side wall stack. To left, a door with flat hood on brackets. On the east side, a similar door. On the east side, the main range projects slightly. North side has regular fenestration, reglazed, and segment arched entrance to cross passage. West side has several additions, mid C20. Entrance range, pardy demolished c1947, roughcast and painted, with gabled and hipped concrete tile roof Single ridge stack. Plinth and eaves band. North side has a segment arched carriage entrance, and above, a box donner door and 3 windows to left, all segment headed. 2 casements to right. Interior is said to have original roof structure, with principal rafters, tie beams and collars.
Listing NGR: TM4397776272
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.