Marshalls Cambridge Airport Control and Office Building, Teversham
Description: Marshalls Cambridge Airport Control and Office Building
Date Listed: 6 May 1997
English Heritage Building ID: 468671
OS Grid Reference: TL4872259109
OS Grid Coordinates: 548722, 259109
Latitude/Longitude: 52.2101, 0.1752
Location: Newmarket Road, Teversham, Cambridgeshire CB5 8RY
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Teversham, Cambridgeshire at Explore Britain.
TL 45 NE TEVERSHAM NEWMARKET ROAD
321/6/1150 Marshalls Cambridge Airport
control and offica building
Airport office building, formerly control, club and terminal building. 1938. By AGG Marshall for his own firm, Marshall of Cambridge (Engineering) Ltd. Render, probably on brick, with parapeted flat roof. Modern style. Single storey with 2-storey centre. Entrance front is an 8-window range of metal casements of 2, 3, and 4 lights. On first floor are two 4-light casements either side the central section of the front which breaks forward. Here a large tripartite window of metal casements over a flat entrance canopy supported on thin metal stanchions. Oak glazed double doors with similar side panels. Front facing the airfield is a 19-window range with in addition a square bay to right and a semicircular 2-storey bay to centre, windows mostly with metal casements. On the first floor only part breaks forward to the bay and here there are corner windows. Further casements to the first floor. Ground floor has three part-glazed doors. INTERIOR. Entrance hall has staircase which leads to gallery with open wooden balustrade. Room with bay window reported as being originally the club lounge and having panelling. A rare and little altered example of an interwar airport control, club and terminal building.
Listing NGR: TL4872259109
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.