Bardon Park Chapel, Bardon
Description: Bardon Park Chapel
Date Listed: 16 June 1997
English Heritage Building ID: 468725
OS Grid Reference: SK4590211926
OS Grid Coordinates: 445902, 311926
Latitude/Longitude: 52.7031, -1.3221
Location: Shaw Lane, Bardon, Leicestershire LE67 1UF
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Bardon, Leicestershire at Explore Britain.
SK 41 SE BARDON SHAW LANE
52/4/10007 Bardon Park Chapel
United Reform Chapel. c1694, altered c1830, remodelled 1877, altered c1900. Local rubble stone partly rendered with red brick and ashlar dressings. Stone slate roofs and ashlar coped gable with brick dentilated eaves band. EXTERIOR: 2 storeys. South front has central doorway with double plank doors and round-headed ashlar lintel with incised ashlar tympanum with roundel inscribed BARDON CHAPEL 1877. Either side single 2-light windows with wooden plate tracery, double chamfered cills and incised ashlar lintels. Above 3 round-headed windows each 2-light with wooden plate tracery and carved tympani with foliate decoration, linked by chamfered cill and double impost band. Above stepped gable has ashlar kneelers and sexfoil roundel in apex with iron finial. West front has central 2-light window flanked by single light windows with wooden plate tracery, above similar window arrangement. East front has similar fenestration to west front. North front has 2 tall 2-light round headed windows with plate tracery to lower lights.INTERIOR: late C17 wooden octagonal pulpit with raised and fielded panels and fluted Doric pilasters. Late C19 wooden reading desk and pews. Wooden panel fronted gallery to 3 sides supported on slender iron columns c1900. Beneath rear central pew the stump of an original Doric column which supported the original gallery. Wooden panel screen and doors to rear c1830. Slate monuments behind pulpit each to a former rector. The left monument to the Rev Jeremiah Dethick died 1796, and to the right to the Rev Thomas Willis Paterson died 1812. Roof has 1877 wooden structure with below surviving original late C17 roof trusses.
Listing NGR: SK4590211926
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.