Description: Lower Lodge with Attached Screen Walls
Date Listed: 15 November 1988
English Heritage Building ID: 71634
OS Grid Reference: SW9744741430
OS Grid Coordinates: 197447, 41430
Latitude/Longitude: 50.2381, -4.8418
ST MICHAEL CAERHAYS
SW 94 SE
3/136 Lower Lodge with attached screen
Lodge to Caerhays Castle, with attached screen walls. Circa 1808, by John Nash, for
J.B. Trevanion. Slatestone rubble; partly rendered. Roofs behind parapets.
Plan: The lodge is of 2-room plan, with one room on each side of the driveway behind
the entrance facade; each room is heated from a stack concealed in a small octagonal
tower to rear. The facade to the road is an asymmetrical composition; the gateway
has a circular plan tower to each side. To left the screen wall runs in a serpentine
plan for about 30 metres; to right the screen wall is an arc, about 10 metres long,
with a square plan terminal tower. Picturesque Gothic style.
Exterior: The gateway has a rounded slatestone arch with granite keystone and granite
corbels; corbelled string course above and embattled parapet with central stone
quatrefoil with shield of arms. To right and left there is a 2-storey circular plan
tower with bull-nose moulding and embattled parapet; these have lancets at ground
floor and blind cross loops at first floor. The serpentine wall to left is battered
at the base, with slatestone rubble string course and embattled parapet, about 3
metres high annd diminishing in height to left. The wall to right is similar, about
4 metres high; the terminal tower is of square plan with slatestone string course and
embattled parapet. Each rear wing is single storey, rendered at the inner side, with
string course and embattled parapet. Each side has two 2-light 12-pane casements
with segmental arches.
Interior: Not inspected.
Sources: Summerson, J.: The Life and Work of John Nash, Architect. 1980.
Listing NGR: SW9744741430
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.