Church of St Rumwold, Bonnington
Description: Church of St Rumwold
Date Listed: 27 November 1957
English Heritage Building ID: 181662
OS Grid Reference: TR0571534426
OS Grid Coordinates: 605715, 134426
Latitude/Longitude: 51.0723, 0.9351
Location: Bonnington, Kent TN25 7BW
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Bonnington, Kent at Explore Britain.
TR 03 SE BONNINGTON
7/77 Church of St.
Parish church. C12, nave rebuilt C13/C14. Ragstone with timber framed
and brick infill porch and weather boarded turret, with plain tiled
roof and leaded turret roof. Chancel and nave with western turret and
northern porch. Offset buttresses, repaired with brick, to western
end, with double hollow chamfered western doorway with drip mould.
Leaded ogee-shaped roof to turret with vane post. Nave with 3 offset
buttresses to each wall with 2 cusped 2 light Y-tracery windows on each
wall. Chamfered south doorway and hollow chamfered north door with
drip mould in timber porch with ragstone base and cusped bargeboard
over doorway with durns Nave east wall with lancets (blocked to south).
Chancel stepped with Romanesque lancet to north, C16 2 light Perpendicular
window to south and Romanesque triple East window. Interior: nave
with roof of 2 crown posts and early C17 timber gallery structure at
west end, the floor boards missing, but with turned baluster rail and
upper flight of newel stairs. Chamfered chancel arch on moulded imposts.
Chancel with plastered barrel roof. Fittings: segmentally arched
double piscina in east wall and partly blocked aumbrey in south wall
of chancel, with window seat to C16 chancel south window. Turned
baluster altar rail with wrought iron supports to gate piers, simple
wainscotting to sanctuary and raised and fielded panelled choir stalls.
C18 octagonal pulpit with attached reading desk, with raised and fielded
panels on rendered masonry base, with Greek key cornice and fluted
pilastered back panel to tester with Greek key and modillioned cornice.
Small trefoiled and ogee headed beaded niche on nave north-east wall.
Bulbous font of Bethersden marble on square base, with railed surround
(taken from altar rail?) with re-used Poppy head bench end. Bolection
moulded prayer boards and benefaction board in nave (dated 1774, recording
the benefaction of Valentine Knott of 8 shillings p.a. from Pinn Farm, 1614
Fragments of glass, C14 and Cl5, in nave, and East window dated 1907.
Royal Arms, mid C18, on west wall. (See B.O.E. Kent I, 172-3).
Listing NGR: TR0587934349
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.