Description: Raynham Hall, North East Service Wing and Wall
Date Listed: 30 November 1951
English Heritage Building ID: 223885
OS Grid Reference: TF8821125755
OS Grid Coordinates: 588211, 325755
Latitude/Longitude: 52.7965, 0.7902
Explore more of the area around Raynham, Norfolk at Explore Britain.
TF 82 NE RAYNHAM EAST RAYNHAM
6/53 Raynham Hall, north-
30/11/51 east service wing and
Country House. Begun 1619, restarted on different site 1622, structurally
complete by the death in 1637 of Sir Roger Townshend, patron and part architect
with William Edge, stonemason. Anticipating later domestic Classicism of
the post-Restoration May-Webb-Wren circle, yet combining retardataire Mannerist
forms with advanced Inigo Jones Palladianism of the east portico. Case-
ments re-placed with sashes with glazing bars, interior remodelled and service
wing added by William Kent for 2nd Marquis of Townshend c.1731 after Kent's
Houghton work. Red brick with stone dressings, slated and leaded roofs.
Flemish bond throughout except for English bond south wing first floor and
two bays on east front flanking the portico recorded in 1672 in a different
form. Overall H plan, half basement, 2 storeys with attics. West entrance
front 7 bay centre with stone dressed ground and mezzanine floor windows.
Attic entablature with 7 windows and central pedimented gable with oculus
and flanking half pediments. Central doorcase c.1680 in style, but cartouche
of Sir Roger Townshend's arms. Ionic half columns with carved entablature
frieze and open swan necked pediment. Outer arms of the H plan of 2 storeys
2 bays with attics and Dutch gables at each corner with modillioned pediments
but unorthodox console supports of sinuously curved Ionic pilasters. South
return of 7 bays with 3 attic dormers and central segmental pedimented doorcase
with rusticated pilasters stylistically c.1680. North return of 3 storeys
with 3 attic dormers and pedimented Tuscan Doric doorcase. East front 3 bay
3 storey stone centre related to Jones's Prince's Lodging at Newmarket design
of 1619-21. Rusticated ground-floor, ashlared above with Ionic half-columns
and modillion pediment. 3 ground-floor windows, Piano nobile Serliana arrange-
ment, 3 window attic. 2 bay flanking wings with baluster parapets with ball
finials. Outer Dutch gabled wings. Interior by Kent. 7 Bay, one and half
storey Hall replacing original screens passage hall arrangement. On central
axis behind east portico ground floor salon, first floor Beli sarius Room
with c.1680 stucco compartment ceiling with Kent paintings. On ground floor
to north Kent staircase with stone treads, metal balusters and painted panels.
Kent dining room with Triumphal Arch screen. To south Kent dog-leg panelled
staircase. In south wing 3 enfilade Kent rooms including panelled Library.
To north service court with single storey brick wing of 3 bays and brick wall
attached to north with ogee brick coping. Similar wing to south leading to
service wing listed separately. See John Harris "Raynham Hall, Norfolk" in
Archaeological Journal CXVIII (1961) pp 180-187.
Listing NGR: TF8821125755
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.