Description: The Cottages to the North of Friston Place
Date Listed: 30 August 1966
English Heritage Building ID: 295132
OS Grid Reference: TV5484298880
OS Grid Coordinates: 554842, 98880
Latitude/Longitude: 50.7688, 0.1945
Explore more of the area around East Dean and Friston, East Sussex at Explore Britain.
FRISTON JEVINGTON ROAD
The Cottages to the
north of Friston Place
(formerly listed as
3 Cottages to north
of Friston Place)
TV 59 NW 27/24C 30.8.66
Originally the stables. Probably built by Thomas Selwyn, who died in 1613,
or by his grandson, Frederick Selwyn, who died in 1664, as the datestones
with the dates 1613 and 1634 and the initials T. S. and F. S. respectively,
which are now on the front of the house, were removed from this building
in 1896. Two storeys and attic in gable end. Five windows. Faced with
flints with stone quoins. Tiled roof. Casement windows with stone mullions.
Three stone doorways, 2 with elliptical heads and one with a pointed head.
Listing NGR: TV5484298880
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.