Description: Lavington Park
Date Listed: 18 June 1959
English Heritage Building ID: 301700
OS Grid Reference: SU9458116321
OS Grid Coordinates: 494581, 116321
Latitude/Longitude: 50.9386, -0.6553
Explore more of the area around East Lavington, West Sussex at Explore Britain.
SU 91 NW EAST LAVINGTON BEECHWOOD LANE
18/2 Lavington Park
18.6.59 (Seaford College)
Half H-shaped house. The original portion of this house comprises the east wing
and the centre portion, originally the service wing. This was built for John
Sargent, MP. Elizabethan house built by the Garton family, from whom Mrs Sargent
had inherited the property through the female line. Architect James Lewis. After
the death of Mrs Sargent in 1841 the house was inherited by Samuel Wilberforce
who was Bishop of Oxford from 1845-69 and Bishop of Winchester from 1869-73 and
who in 1828 had married her eldest grandaughter Emily. He resided there at
intervals from 1845 until his death in 1873, and his son after him. In 1903 the
house was considerably enlarged by Lord Woolavington, when the west wing was added
balancing and nearly matching the east wing and the centre portion altered.
Architect Detmar Blow. The house is of 2 storeys, attic and basement. White brick.
Balustraded parapet. Hipped slate roof. Glazing bars intact. The south front
facing the Downs has 15 windows and 11 dormers. Of these, the 5 easternmost window
bays constitute the 1794 wing. The 3 centre window bays of this project slightly
with solid portion in the centre of the balustrade above containing a cartouche
and a wide central porch with 4 Ionic columns and a pediment over. This wing of
1794 has been reproduced at the west end in 1903 complete with a matching porch,
and between the two is a recessed secton of 5 windows. The west front has 5 windows
and 5 dormers. On the north front facing the Weald the projection of the wings
of 1794 and 1903 is much deeper. The original wing has 7 windows, 3 dormers and
2 curved bays on ground and first floors which have Venetian windows on the curve
on the ground floor, also a curved bay in the centre of the west wall. The recessed
portion has 5 windows and 5 dormers and a porch with pediment over, added in 1903,
which is now the main entrance of the house. The west wing added in 1903, is
practically identical with the original wing.
Listing NGR: SU9458116321
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.