Date Listed: 18 June 1959
English Heritage Building ID: 301704
OS Grid Reference: SU9483916276
OS Grid Coordinates: 494839, 116276
Latitude/Longitude: 50.9381, -0.6516
Explore more of the area around East Lavington, West Sussex at Explore Britain.
SU 91 NW EAST LAVINGTON BEECHWOOD LANE
House. Originally the Rectory. C18 house, possibly designed by James Lewis, the
architect of the original portion of Lavington Park, for James Sargent MP in 1794,
when Lavington Park was built. Altered in 1939 by Sir Edwin Lutyens. 2 storeys
and attic. 5 windows. 1 hipped dormer. Faced with roughcast, colourwashed pink.
Eaves cornice. Hipped slate roof. The 2 easternmost window bays of the south
front are slightly recessed. This portion and the main section are flanked by
chamfered stone quoins. Glazing bars intact. At the east end is an octagonal
ground floor room with a ball cap at the apex of its roof. This was originally
an embrasure leading out of the Hall but Lutyens made it into a separate room.
Porch with square wooden columns, probably added by Lutyens, and veranda to the
east of it between the porch and the octagonal projection. The north or garden
front is similar except that it is the 2 westernmost window bays which are recessed
with a recessed portico on their ground floor. Lutyens altered the house for his
daughter Mrs Barbara Wallace, subsequently Mrs Herbert Agar. Sir Edwin Lutyens
himself lived in the house for some time after 1939. But the most important
association of the house is with the Reverend Henry (after Cardinal) Manning who
in his Church of England days resided here from 1833-51 when he was Rector of East
Lavington and Graffham and Archdeacon of Chichester. He was married in East
Lavington Church to Caroline, third daughter of the previous Rector, the Reverend
John Sargent. Mrs Manning is buried in East Lavington Churchyard. Graded for
Listing NGR: SU9483916276
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.