Description: Gayle Mill
Date Listed: 25 March 1969
English Heritage Building ID: 323144
OS Grid Reference: SD8711689382
OS Grid Coordinates: 387116, 489382
Latitude/Longitude: 54.2999, -2.1995
There is also a scheduled monument with a similar name, Gayle Mill, its outbuildings and associated water system, at the same location as this building or very close to it. This is probably the same structure or related to it in some way.
Explore more of the area around Hawes, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
In the entry for:
HAWES Gayle Mill
SD 88 NE
The grade shall be amended to read Grade II* (star)
SD 88 NE
20/121 Gayle Mill
Cotton mill, now saw mill. c1784. Rubble, stone slate roof. 3 storeys, 6
bays. Quoins. In bay 3, leaved board doors under deep timber lintel, with
small wheels set in floor for movement of timber onto saw-bench inside.
Original 16-pane fixed-light windows mostly replaced by 8-pane windows.
Stack at end left, former bellcote at end right. Rear elevation: blocked
tail-race opening from wheelchamber in corner near stream with round arch of
rubble voussoirs and hood-mould; regular pattern of windows. Right return:
blocked doorway formerly giving access to axle of waterwheel in centre of
ground floor. Left return: first-floor end entry with leaved board doors.
Interior: 2 workable water turbines by Williamson of Kendal. The mill was
switched to spinning wool for the local knitting industry in the late C18,
and was converted to a saw mill in the C19. The overshot waterwheel was
replaced by turbines in the late C19. From 1919 - 1948 the turbines
supplied electric light for the village. James Alderson, Under Wetherfell
(1980), pp 132-3.
Listing NGR: SD8711689382
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.