Church of St Mary, Blundeston
Description: Church of St Mary
Date Listed: 27 November 1954
English Heritage Building ID: 361700
OS Grid Reference: TM5134597234
OS Grid Coordinates: 651345, 297234
Latitude/Longitude: 52.5150, 1.7030
Location: Church Road, Blundeston, Suffolk NR32 5AX
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Blundeston, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
BLUNDESTON CHURCH ROAD
TM 59 NW
2/6 Church of St. Mary
Parish church. Medieval, the chancel partly rebuilt 1851. Nave, chancel,
west tower, south porch. Flint rubble, faced with knapped flint except for
the tower and the north side of the nave; stone dressings. Slated roofs.
Round tower: the lower three-quarters is C11 or earlier, with various semi-
circular headed slit windows and a range of larger blocked openings denoting
the former belfry; early C16 west window in brick. The upper part of the
tower has an admixture of red brick and is probably C15: lancet belfry
openings and crenellated parapet. Nave originally C12 but rebuilt and widened
in C14: only the south wall was re-aligned, leaving the tower asymmetrical.
The nave windows are mainly C14, with reticulated tracery motifs; to the south
there are also 2 C15 windows. 3-light west window, apparently late C13. The
C14 south nave doorway incorporates 2 upside-down C12 colonnettes. Restored
C15 porch. 2-bay chancel with tall 2-light C14 windows similar to those in
the nave. C19 east end with 4-light window in Decorated style with geometric
tracery. Interior. Simple Cll-C12 tower arch. Mid C19 boarded ceilings to
nave and chancel. The nave roof is in 2 bays: the main trusses appear to be
original (C14) and rest on C14 stone corbels carved as human heads. Ogee-
arched piscina in chancel. C12 font, originally square but now octagonal, on
an octagonal stem surrounded by 8 detached octagonal columns. The bowl has
traces of incised decoration. Good late C15 rood screen with crocketted ogee-
arched lights and pierced tracery; the dado has 16 traceried panels painted
with Angels of the Passion. The screen has been somewhat restored: the upper
parts of the outer bays and the coving to the rood beam are entirely renewed.
The mid C19 poppyhead nave benches incorporate C15 ends against the walls. 2
other detached poppyhead benches are entirely C15. A considerable amount of
mid C19 carved chancel woodwork, including oak panelling, choir stalls and
sedilia. In the chancel floor there are 2 early C17 brass inscriptions and a
number of ledger slabs. Over the south door are the Arms of Charles II dated
Listing NGR: TM5134597234
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.