Church of St James the Less, Huish
Description: Church of St James the Less
Date Listed: 4 October 1960
English Heritage Building ID: 90909
OS Grid Reference: SS5337311081
OS Grid Coordinates: 253373, 111081
Latitude/Longitude: 50.8806, -4.0857
Location: Huish, Devon EX20 3QE
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
There is also a scheduled monument, Churchyard Cross 3m South of Huish Church Porch, at the same location as this building or very close to it. This may be related in some way or possibly a different name for the same structure.
Explore more of the area around Huish, Devon at Explore Britain.
SS 51 SW
4/120 Church of St James the Less
Parish church. Late C15 or early C16 tower, the rest rebuilt in 1873 by G. E.
Street. Coursed stone rubble walls. Gable-ended slate roof. Stone chimney to
Plan: nave, chancel, south aisle and porch, west tower and vestry on north side of
chancel. Apart from the late C15 or early C16 tower the church was entirely rebuilt
in 1873 mainly in the early Decorated style.
Exterior: 3-stage castellated west tower with obelisk finials. Round-headed granite
west doorway with roll and hollow moulding and arched hoodmould. C20 rebuilt 3-
light Perpendicular style west window. 2-light segmental arched belfry openings.
Slit openings for stair on north side. North side of nave has 3 2-light and one
single light plate tracery type windows. At east end is lean-to vestry with arched
doorway. Large 5-light east window of Decorated Style and similar small 2-light one
on south side of chancel. The south aisle has a 3-light early Decorated style
window to either side of the porch and a trefoiled light towards the east end.
Single storey gabled south porch with 2 centred moulded arched doorway and diagonal
buttress either side.
Interior: south doorway has pointed arch with nookshafts. The internal walls are
lined with fine sandstone ashlar. The 3-bay arcade is of similar stone with 4-
centred arches and piers with moulded capitals. Wide similar chancel arch and
pointed sandstone tower arch. Chancel has sedilia and piscina in south wall. Arch
in north wall to vestry. Arch-braced collar beam roof to nave with cusping to
arches and angels corbels to principal rafters. Boarded roof to chancel and plain
wagon roof to aisle.
Octagonal front of Caen stone with very fine fleuron carving to panels and stem
consisting of clustered shafts, alternate ones of marble. The pulpit is of similar
stone, 3 sided with tracery carved panels. On the west wall of the nave is an oval
slate wall memorial to Jane Wollacombe who died in 1777. To the other side of the
tower arch are 2 more wall memorials - one slate with nowy head dated 1668 the other
marble and oval to William Spurway Gent who died 1715.
Source: Pevsner: Buildings of North Devon
Listing NGR: SS5337311081
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.