Description: Church of the Holy Trinity
Date Listed: 25 March 1970
English Heritage Building ID: 481518
OS Grid Reference: SP3170966426
OS Grid Coordinates: 431709, 266426
Latitude/Longitude: 52.2951, -1.5365
Explore more of the area around Royal Leamington Spa, Warwickshire at Explore Britain.
ROYAL LEAMINGTON SPA
SP3166SE BEAUCHAMP AVENUE
1208-1/2/38 (North side)
25/03/70 Church of the Holy Trinity
(Formerly Listed as:
Church of the Holy Trinity)
Church. 1847 (begun 1825) by Mitchell of Leamington Spa for
Revd Craig of Leamington Parish Church of All Saints (qv)
(cost »13,000); with substantial additions and alterations of
1865; enlargement of transepts and addition of vestry in 1881
by John Cundall; porch and east chancel wall of 1900; further
alterations of 1913-14; south transept stained glass c1891 by
Collier. Sandstone ashlar with Welsh slate roof and cast-iron
STYLE: Gothic Revival, Decorated.
PLAN: 4-bay aisled nave with short west bay to nave and south
aisle incorporating porch, 2-bay transepts with organ loft to
south and vestry to north, single-bay chancel.
EXTERIOR: chamfered plinth. Chamfered continuous sill band.
Off-set buttresses between windows with pinnacles.
Battlements. Entrance to south porch a pointed door in
double-chamfered ovolo-moulded surround and hollow-moulded
hood with quatrefoils to spandrels; embattled blind arcade
above. To east end of porch a stair turret. 7-light west
window with curvilinear tracery to head. Similar mainly
4-light windows to aisles, the westernmost to south aisle has
2 lights. North and south transepts have 5-light windows,
below that to south a 9-light arcade window; further 2-light
window to north. To chancel a 7-light east window with rose to
INTERIOR: irregular nave arcade has to south 3 bays and 2
narrower west bays, to north are 4 bays with further
double-chamfered arch to west; otherwise arcade has column
clusters with foliate capitals and double-chamfered arches.
Single tall arches to crossing, crossing has rib-vault.
Transept arcades on pairs of polished grey granite pillars
with foliate caps and traceried decoration to spandrels.
Cylindrical stone pulpit with grey and pink granite
colonnettes. Carved marble font. Cast-iron gates to south-east
have Art Nouveau decoration.
HISTORICAL NOTE: this was a propriety church until 1899 when
created a parish church. The square, formerly known as
Beauchamp Square (and originally Newbold Square), was laid out
c1828-31 to plans by PF Robinson, architect, of Mayfair.
(Dept of the Environment List of Buildings: Royal Leamington
Spa: 1970-; Manning JC (Facsimile by Warwickshire County
Library, 1988): Glimpses of our Local Past .. Royal Leamington
Spa: Royal Leamington Spa: 1895-: 140).
Listing NGR: SP3170966426
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.